Spike Camp

Which one for Moose??

Which one for Moose??
« on: April 10, 2016, 06:38:10 PM »
Hey Guys, sounds like I may be getting a Moose Hunt lined up for the beginning of October in British Columbia. My Dad is lining it up with a friend of his that owns a bunch of property near Prince George.

I've never hunted them before and am really really looking forward to it, just wondering what your guys thought are. I'm either taking my 300 Weatherby Euromark or my 375 WBY Mag Euromark that I picked up a couple years ago. I also have the option to take my Dads 340, which is probably a "perfect" choice, however I would rather use one of my own.
I know that Moose are shot daily with calibers much smaller/less powerful then a 300 mag so I know the 300 Weatherby is great plenty, only reason I'm thinking about my 375 is that I have never hunted with it and have no idea what I would for quite sometime.
I'm no expert on Moose, however it seems that they are something you can generally get fairly close to and I can't imagine ever needing to shoot 300 or more yards?
My Dad is taking his 338-378.
If I take my 300 I would more then likely use a 180 TSX or 200 Partition depending on which shoots better. If I went with my 375 I would use the factory loaded 300 Partitions assuming they shoot well.
Sounds like the last few years their average Bull was around 45" with a few up in the 50" range.
Just curious as to what you guys recommend, I know there's no such thing as being over gunned, however it seems like the research I've done, there is a lot more moose harvested with 300's, 30-06's, and 7 Mags then 375's?

Re: Which one for Moose??
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2016, 07:13:28 PM »
Congrats on the hunt.One of the guys from Canada (forget who ) said they were not too difficult to kill.
Roger
Faster horses,younger women,older whiskey,and more money.

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2016, 07:28:39 PM »