Spike Camp

Recoil lug bedding

RB123

Recoil lug bedding
« on: March 04, 2017, 09:27:12 AM »
Hi guys! I'm a newbie here but I've gotten lots of good info from all of you in the past. So wanted to start by saying thank you!
I'm in the process of ordering a new stock for my older vanguard synthetic 30-06. I'm leaning towards ordering the fiberguard directly from the weatherby custom shop. This would be the same stock that comes on the vanguard RC model. It's green with aluminum pillars.
Since weatherby beds the recoil lugs on these models from the factory I plan to do the same. However, I've never done anything like this before, and from what I've read weatherby's recoil lug is unique in the fact that the front action screw attach through the recoil lug.
1. Having said that does this mean I should not tape off the bottom of the recoil lug prior to bedding?
2. For those of you that have done this should I tighten the action screws while the bedding material hardens or just settle the barreled action in the stock and let it dry without any tension?

Thanks much!

Re: Recoil lug bedding
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2017, 02:14:51 PM »
Welcome to the Nation!!! I've never bedded any of my rifles, hopefully someone with that knowledge will see your post. It can get fairly quiet on the weekend here on the Nation. I have a S1 and a S2Accuguard in 257 Weatherby and love both of them. 
Doug

« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2017, 07:39:58 PM »
Unclekax

RB123

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2017, 07:05:41 PM »
Thanks for the link unklekax. Those guys put some really informative videos together. However, my main concern cannot be answered in that video because model 700 does not have an integrel recoil lug. I'm really trying to figure out the best way to keep bedding material out of the recoil lug bolt and sleeve.
1. Use a plug or guide bolt of some sort for the bolt sleeve. Which wouldn't allow one to tighten the stock in place with the action screws.