Spike Camp

257 COAL for Vanguard 2- advice needed.

257 COAL for Vanguard 2- advice needed.
« on: April 29, 2017, 06:52:25 AM »
Hi guys!  I'm a newbie and looking for some reloading advice.  Just bought my first Weatherby, a 257 Vanguard 2, Kryptek camo and bronze Cerakote barrel.

I have never reloaded for a Weatherby before and so I decided to try a couple of different bullets to start with the process.

The first is a 80 gr. Barness TTSX and when seating the bullet to the recommended COAL Barnes gives, it is in the gap before the first ring.  That doesn't seem right to me and I am wondering what other reloaders do. 

So my questions are:
1. If you have loaded this bullet, what was your COAL?
2. What COAL does your Vanguard like?

Thanks,

Niteyote1 

Re: 257 COAL for Vanguard 2- advice needed.
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2017, 08:00:10 AM »
Welcome aboard! You've come to the right place for knowledgeable advice.
JP
Moderator Jameson Parker
www.readjamesonparker.com

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2017, 08:31:37 AM »
I have not used this bullet
My reloading manual is to old and does not show this bullet, but it does show it online with the COAL at 3.170.
My manual does show a 3.090 min - 3.170 max.
Hornady shows, 75 gr, 3.140
                        87 gr, 3.185
This should give you sum starting points to compare
Weatherby rifles are freebored so you can move out without hitting the rifling. But the rule that I have always went by is to have seating depth at least equal or more, than caliber size. So you want at least .257 seating depth in the neck for proper bullet alignment and bearing surface for neck tension on the bullet.
My Vanguard loads are loaded at, Barnes TTSX, 3.27 --- Berger 115 VLD, 3.292
Both of these bullets are longer than a 80 grain bullet
Hopefully someone on here has used this bullet and can give more info just for your bullet
Mike

dubyam

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2017, 09:06:30 AM »