Spike Camp

.257 different area different bullets?

.257 different area different bullets?
« on: June 16, 2017, 04:09:07 PM »
Newbie here, have been scanning the posts and looking for an answer. After more than 20 years I finally cased my .270 win in favor of the .257 Weatherby Magnum Vanguard in Game Guard camo. (A shot across a draw at a West Texas Mule Deer hit the dirt under his legs in the 90's that prompted me to look into magnums. The 7mm Rem Mag of my dreams was quickly replaced once I saw numbers on the .257.) When I bought the .257 I was living in Texas and hunting West Texas. I bought the 100 grain spitzers and they took down 5 white tails the first year. All but one went down like they had been hit with a lightning bolt and the one that didn't only went 20 yards into the brush. After that year I had to move back to Louisiana and I only make about one or two Texas trips a year now. The last two seasons most of my hunts have been in Mississippi which looks like a jungle compared to West Texas. The first year I made 3 close shots and the deer were gone, no blood trails or anything. Frustrated, I went to the range and found the rifle to still be shooting under 1 MOA. The past season I left the Weatherby at home and took a .308 with 180 grain bullets for a blood trail and connected out to 230 yards which is the longest shot we have at the MS camp. To finally get to the question: The deer I shot in Tx with 100 gr always seemed to pinhole on one side and disintegrate and almost never had a blood trail. I am starting to reload and have bought 117 gr Hornady SST's and Sierra Game Kings to try out. I am also considering the 120 gr TSX and Nosler Partions. As I am hunting in much thicker cover now with the longest shot being 230 yards I am looking for suggestions. I know the .308 works, but I miss hunting with my Weatherby.

Chris

• View Profile
Re: .257 different area different bullets?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2017, 05:27:21 PM »