Spike Camp

hunting with a compound bow

hunting with a compound bow
« on: February 14, 2010, 12:08:37 PM »
anyone hunt with a compound bow. i do. i have a diamond razor edge. it goes from 30 pounds to 60 pounds. i havent killed any thing with it yet but this coming deer season i am going to try hard to.

dubyam

• View Profile
Re: hunting with a compound bow
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2010, 01:46:38 PM »
I've been hunting with a compound for many years (almost 20, now, actually).  It's one of the most gratifying ways to hunt, in my opinion, too.  It's tough sometimes - you go a while without seeing anything, then you see 12-14 deer in a single morning without a shot opportunity on a single one of them!  I enjoy the challenge, though.

The one word of advice I'll use is that you really have to think very differently about stand placement than when rifle hunting.  Field edges and food plots are great for a rifle, but have largely been highly UN-productive for me with a bow.  I hunt public land, and have found that getting in the woods a bit, understanding travel patterns, and postioning yourself to take advantage of them is crucial.  If you want to be within 25yds to get a shot, you have to know pretty much exactly where they're going to be.  Be ready to play the wind, too.  Good luck!
I believe this is a practical world, and in it I can count only on what I can earn.  Therefore I believe in work, hard work. - The Auburn Creed
The older I get, the less stock I place in what men say, and the more I place in what men do. - Andrew Carnegie

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2010, 02:57:34 PM »
I do not hunt with a bow as much as I used to due to shoulder problems, but it is a blast being so close .I love all the gimmicks that we use and Murphys law is in affect, all that can go wrong will lol. Good luck.
Roger
Roger
Faster horses,younger women,older whiskey,and more money.

ricky

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2010, 05:11:17 PM »