Spike Camp

Coyote hunting tips?

Coyote hunting tips?
« on: April 08, 2011, 02:15:55 PM »
 Hello everyone Im kinda new to weatherbynation. I was wondering if anyone had any helpful tips for coyote hunting? I also just started in this venture as well. I have heard a couple howl but cant seem to get them to come in.
       Thanks

Re: Coyote hunting tips?
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2011, 10:29:59 PM »
Jtomlinson:I am sure not an expert.There are some very good varmint hunters here that I am sure can help you out.I think you have to change up the calls to find what they will come in to.I don't know if you are using an electronic caller,but distress calls seem to work best here cottontail,fawn, kitten distress ,bird calls like the woodpecker,bluejay, red bird.To  coax one on in,squeaky calls,field mouse.Different sounds that might not be common in your area might be just the ticket.Everyone uses the rabbits calls and I think they may get call shy to them if they have heard them enough.I play with my caller in the yard(just listening to the different sounds) and my dog just lays there and pays no attention to most,but the kitten distress always gets him up and moving.That was how we started using it.A yote is close enough to a dog we figured.Always watch the wind and be looking
forthem to try to circle and come in down wind.Good luck,it is very discouraging when you can't get anything to come in.I know that firsthand.
We actually went out tonight( that is why I am up so late) for a hunt in very windy conditions and used and extra speaker to get some volume.We went through about 4 different sounds then switched to the kitten and then had one come in from the wood line across an open field  about 400 yds away.It was my buddy's turn to shoot and when the yote looked like it was trying to circle and get behind us , he decided to take the shot, but missed.Did one of the other calls already have him coming our way,I am not sure.