Spike Camp

Vanguard Sporter or Wilderness

WTM88

Vanguard Sporter or Wilderness
« on: December 22, 2018, 09:53:17 PM »
I’m new to Weatherby rifles and looking for some help choosing which model to get. I’m looking at a Vanguard 30-06 for Elk hunting in Colorado. I like the feel and weight of the Wilderness, but it seems like some people have concerns about the durability of the stock. If I don’t get the wilderness I would probably get the sporter. It’s a little cheaper and only 3/4 of a pound heavier. I also tend to like the classic look of a wood stock. Is the Wilderness worth the extra money?

Re: Vanguard Sporter or Wilderness
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2018, 07:02:02 AM »
Reading this it seems you have your answer already. You like the classic wood stock.
The durability of the wilderness stock?? Pretty sure it's more durable than a wood stock
So get the classic, take the barreled action off the stock, put 3 good coats of Tru-oil on the  entire stock. Put it back together and have at those elk!!
What unit do you hunt in Colorado?

WTM88

« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2018, 07:14:35 AM »
Thanks for the advice. I think I am trying to avoid making my decision for purely aesthetic reasons. If the lighter weight will be a genuine advantage and if the synthetic stock would be at least as durable then I will probably go with the Wilderness. I am concerned that at least one reviewer of the Back Country ( which I believe has the same stock as the Wilderness) reported finding cracks in the stock after some use. There are also posts here talking about issues with the sling swivels pulling out of the stock, etc. Are these aberrations or are there issues with the QC of the stock?